Cousin Rachel by Daphne Du Maurier. Part 1: The audio book and prelude to watching the film (No spoilers)

I have just finished the audiobook in time to watch the film. The audiobook lasts about 12 hours; I would have thought I could fit reading the book, into less 12 hours. I could probably read for longer sessions, than I could listen therefore as well as taking less total time, I could have compressed into less time.

After listening to the audiobook I’m¬† curious to see the film. I think the book has an interesting plot albeit not action packed therefore think, it would be possible to fit into two hours. I think, the characters could be brought more to life than in the book. I’m not a big fan of reading or watching costume dramas. However, I found the language in the audiobook very accessible albeit a little wordy for example; not sure it was really necessary to always state Cousin Rachel¬†rather than just Rachel. I hope the film is not too stuffy and overly focused on creating period atmosphere; I ideally want the characters and storyline to shine through. From stills I have¬†seen they? have perhaps literally decide to sex film up.

For me ending was marred by barely last syllable being uttered and a message thanking for listening to audio talked over. In book although would have known was reading last sentence, would literally have had blank space to reflect.

Book Scavanger: What I did not have on my shelf….

Author: wonderwall360blog

So many wonders of the world to write about on my blog wall. I'm an Oasis fan hence the using wondewall as blog name.

3 thoughts on “Cousin Rachel by Daphne Du Maurier. Part 1: The audio book and prelude to watching the film (No spoilers)”

    1. Male. Fairly slow sounding voice and at first not keen but then new to audio books. He did do some of the voices for dialogue so in end then I could listen to him without issue. But would not say was near top of storytellers could have.

      Like

      1. I’m fairly new to them too. I’ve listened to Alan Cummings, who is nice to listen to, and Richard Armitage who is a really good narrator. I really enjoyed his work on “Venetia”.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

